all things pass into the night

I have really, really been enjoying Goldstitch’s new mix for “A Brooklyn Life” ABL:Radio podcast which you can find here, and not only is the selection and pace and everything really fantastic (I would say that Rob and Zoopsie are also my favorites as far as putting together excellent relaxed but funky mixes…), but Goldstitch has also reacquainted me with what has to be one of my favorite songs: “Goodbye Horses” by Q. Lazzarus. And she (or whoever did the page) has 1552 friends on MySpace? A lot of people like this song, eh? And it has been discussed before, etc., etc. (seriously, is there anything left to write blog entries about?)

This song and its story are pretty interesting, and there is a short biography available, put together by some German fans. I am sure that I am not the only one that first heard the song by watching “Silence of the Lambs,” although this may not be what the writer had in mind for the song (for it to always be associated with that infamous scene). But Demme and crew do a really great job integrating music into the film. But more than anything that happens in the movie, what stuck with me was the song, I just said to myself, I have to know what it is! Because it’s not so much what is happening, which is obviously disturbing, but it is the song that makes it so unforgettable. And it fits so well, even though it is actually quite danceable, it is also so dark and melancholy, and the lyrics are mysterious.

And what I didn’t realize is that the singer is a woman, and all along I thought it was a man, which makes the selection of the song for that scene all that more meaningful and symbolic, particularly with the ideas of transformation, (extreme) sensory experiences, and fantasy. The song therefore has to be a theme song for the killer in the film. The writer of the song, William Garvey, writes that “the song is about transcendence over those who see the world as only earthy and finite. The horses represent the five senses from Hindu philosophy (The Bhagavad Gita) and the ability to lift one’s perception above these physical limitations and to see beyond this limited Earthly perspective.” I would say that this is the kind of freedom that the serial killer in the film wants to achieve and experience, but he is trapped in his own mind and physical form.

…and while on the subject of Silence of the Lambs, this is kind of random — there is this one moment that actually creeps me out more than anything else, and it was not intentional, I’m sure — the moment when Jodie Foster’s character goes into Crawford’s office the first time and the camera follows her into the room, and then we see her turn around…I just don’t know what it is about it, and I am sure that it was just two shots from different times put together, but she looks so *weird* at that moment. She all of a sudden has lost the color in her lips, and she looks really pale but also sweaty, and her eyes look somewhat elongated and kind of alien-like. And she has this really sad look on her face. And when the camera cuts back to her, all of a sudden she looks like Jodie Foster again. Okay, so that is probably just me, but I have tried to not notice it, and I do every single time I watch it. She doesn’t even look like the same person.

He told me, I see you rise
But, it always falls.
I see them come,
I see them go
He said, All things pass into the night
And I said, Oh no sir I must say you’re wrong
I must disagree Oh no sir I must say you’re wrong.
Won’t you listen to me
You told me, I’ve seen it all before
I’ve been there,
I’ve seen my hopes and dreams A lying on the ground
I’ve seen the sky, just begin to fall
He said, All things pass into the night
And I said, Oh no sir I must say you’re wrong
And I must disagree,
Oh no sir, I must say you’re wrong
Won’t you listen to me

Chorus
Good-bye horses I’m flying over you

~ by atomlattice on August 7, 2008.

One Response to “all things pass into the night”

  1. I doubt this writer will see this as it was posted years ago but this post really opened my mind to the meaning of my favourite song and put it into context concerning SOTL. Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
